• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Reasons for shorter rolling contract negotiation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reasons for shorter rolling contract negotiation

I am an IT contractor with a bank and have been contracting for several years, this is my 3rd client.

I was approahed by a consultancy for a more lucrative contract and I put myself forward for a daily rate of X.

Passed technical interviewing and the boss interview and got an offer.
    They lowballed me with X-25£ and 3 month rolling contract.

To my mind this is setting some alarm bells as normally in the industry I have seen 6 and 12 month contracts.

I said thanks but no thanks, citing these were not the terms I went in with.

They have come back saying they didnt intend for this and i can have the original terms (back on X rate and 6 month rolling)

I am still unsure however. Not so much about the rate, I can understand its a negotiation.
    But why would be the reasons to attempt a 3 month rather than 6 monh contract?

I guess flexibility on their side obviously.
    But could also be there is not much work lined up and they would like to take stock while I am on a weaker negotiating position...

Thoughts from anyone previously in this position?

It is probably to help the budget look good.

Can you confirm the terms of your rolling contract regarding termination? I once had a 30 day "rolling" contract that had no end date - either side could give 30 days notice.