• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Employment Allowance - £2000 off NIC's?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Employment Allowance - £2000 off NIC's?

I'm no tax expert but looks like from April 2014 micro businesses will also gain £2k off employer NI contributions.

Nice touch.

KUATB

Old news......

Comment

Originally posted by silverlight1 View Post
      I'm no tax expert but looks like from April 2014 micro businesses will also gain £2k off employer NI contributions.

Nice touch.
      It is a good incentive, but not everybody is entitled as those caught by IR35 or providing services in the public sector (excluding IT) will not be eligible. The link below provides the details, there is also a long thread in accounting / legal on this

https://www.gov.uk/government/upload...A_Guidance.pdf

Comment

Just to get how this will apply re IR35, is the only portion which it does not apply the deemed salary payment, i.e., the dividends which are being treated as salary? As presumably the £10,000 was paid as salary and the £2,000 exemption applied to it.

Comment

Originally posted by Zero Liability View Post
          Just to get how this will apply re IR35, is the only portion which it does not apply the deemed salary payment, i.e., the dividends which are being treated as salary? As presumably the £10,000 was paid as salary and the £2,000 exemption applied to it.