• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Start work without receiving written contract?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Start work without receiving written contract?

Hi all

I'm new to contracting and have been asked to start work for a client on Monday. Should I insist on having a copy of the contract prior to starting work?

Originally posted by sonu
    Hi all

I'm new to contracting and have been asked to start work for a client on Monday. Should I insist on having a copy of the contract prior to starting work?
    Yes. Don't leave home without it.

You can choose to ignore this advice if you wish and no doubt 90% of cats never have a problem, but if you are in the 10% who do, you are stuffed.

tim

Comment

"A verbal contract is worth the paper it is not written on."
      Insanity: repeating the same actions, but expecting different results.
      threadeds website, and here's my blog.

Comment

Originally posted by tim123
        Yes. Don't leave home without it.

You can choose to ignore this advice if you wish and no doubt 90% of cats never have a problem, but if you are in the 10% who do, you are stuffed.

tim
        And if you've got things like Professional Indemnity Insurance they are usually invalidated if you are working without cover of a contract as essentially you are only onsite as a visitor and not a contractor.

Also how likely is it that people will pull their finger out and get a contract to you if you've already started? Your bargaining position will have gone

Comment