• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to Public Sector Contracting - DWP

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Public Sector Contracting - DWP

I'm not a techie myself but have been working tech project manager contracts for a few years now, almost all in the fintech space. Regular work has shrunk a lot in the sub-sector that I work in and so I've been looking at Public Sector contracts, almost all inside-IR35 which I'm absolutely fine with. Took me a while to figure out how to get past the screening stage for public sector contractor hiring but I'm there now.

I have my first (and apparently the only interview during the hiring process) interview (the recruiter said 20-30 minutes at most) with a DWP hiring manager later this week. The JD itself itself is very light on details and just a lot of very generic guff that you would expect for tech project/change management in any organisation. The recruiter doesn't have anything more to offer details-wise.

I haven't had an interview in donkey's years and never worked in the public sector. I appreciate it's quite a woolly request but I would be grateful for any very general tips on public sector contractor interviews.

Thanks in advance!