• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Inside IR35 ‘tasks’

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Inside IR35 ‘tasks’

I am working inside IR35, and have received a new starter email telling me I must set up my intranet profile (I do have access to the internet) with information about me, ‘follow’ at least five ‘colleagues’ and write three sentences about how I have recently demonstrated living the company’s values.

As I’m a contractor, I’m hoping none of this applies to me, but on the other hand I did still have to complete a lot of mandatory training about the company’s policies (working practices, fire safety, GDPR etc) so I’m not sure exactly where the line is drawn.

My initial view is that I can ignore this as I’m not a ‘colleague’, but is it likely I’ll be pulled up on it? The other training was mandatory to everyone using the company’s systems/hardware/buildings, so I can understand that, but the rest seems a bit much.

intranet not internet…

Comment

You are inside so can be subject to Direction and Control so yes they can ask you to do all this.

The only reason we wouldn't normally do this is if you were outside and were trying not to look like an employee. As you inside that is now irrelevant.
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by sdd View Post
        As I’m a contractor, I’m hoping none of this applies to me,
        You are a no-rights employee, not a contractor.

Comment

Originally posted by Peoplesoft bloke View Post