• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agency kicking up a fuss over notice period

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agency kicking up a fuss over notice period

I'm in an Inside IR35 gig, with 4 weeks notice (but client only has to give me 2 weeks notice). I found another gig, paying a rate which is 3x higher but client wants me to start in two weeks. I accepted the new clients offer.

I've been working for the current client for 4 months and have had no days off and worked my socks off. So today, I informed my manager of the resignation and said I would be working 2 weeks and also taking 2 weeks annual leave as I hadn't taken any time off etc. Didnt receive a response from the manager, but got an ear full from the agency who said to me "You are going to work for the full 4 weeks." I politely reiterated that I'm only able to do 2 weeks due to annual leave, but they kept sending aggressive emails, literally saying I have no choice. Anyways my new agency just said it happens all the time, just ignore it because they cant deny you time off.

Just wanted to know if the agency/client can do anything? I dont think they can do much, but wanted to double check. For context, its a crappy low paid gig in banking that I took only because of Covid so I can't forsee them taking any sort of legal action, but you never know.

Originally posted by sira View Post