• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

An amateur mistake - Brexit Impact

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

An amateur mistake - Brexit Impact

Pfff. Made the horrible mistake of holding out for a contract that was promised to me verbally. I was just informed that I was too expensive for the role. The fact that an opportunity to negotiate was not offered suggests it was more that they did not actually want me as opposed to the rate.

I should have known better. I have been doing this for 25 years.

Anyhow I find myself in the position of looking for a contract as opposed to personal referrals for the first time since 2012, need to stem the 1 month bleed I have has so far. Jobserve is at best 30-50% of realistic rates. LinkedIn apart from serving as a database of my contacts seems to offer no more than a poorer version of Facebook.

The warchest was depleted by medical expenses - adding pressure to finding a contract, which is never ideal.

I am getting some traction by submitting myself for roles that require less experience than I have, and getting call backs touting a more senior role. It's exhausting - Has anyone had any success using this method?

Anyhow....

One thing I have noticed is a steady increase of clients in Germany requiring German language skills (presumably as a filter - companies where working and documentation language is English). Some have even been as blatant (for longer term projects) to ask for a passport other than UK. I doubt this is yet legal.