• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Been asked to install key logging software...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Been asked to install key logging software...

Hi all,

Apologies if this is the wrong forum, *newbie here*, but need some advice please.

Situation: I am a contractor, work from home, and use my own laptop. One of my clients has asked me to install a key logger on my laptop, that will record key strokes and send screen shots to them, so they can "accurately record time spent on individual projects". I have several problems with this:

1. I have more than one client, and am pretty sure my other clients would have concerns about data security if I had a key logger installed.
    2. It is my laptop, not a client supplied one.
    3. Concerned that there may be IR35 issues.

I need to explain myself to them, to say why I am not going to be installing their key logger on my laptop (I think it is likely to be a volatile meeting as the client is a little direct, and may well end in the termination of this contract!), and was wondering if there is any opinions/references etc out there that I can cadge to support my assertions. Any other opinions?

Really grateful for any help!

Cheers,
    Sky

I'd be tempted to just leave.. That's gotta be a horrible place to work.

Comment

Originally posted by skysurfer View Post
      Hi all,

Apologies if this is the wrong forum, *newbie here*, but need some advice please.