• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working on oilrig / offshore

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working on oilrig / offshore

Hello, newbie here.

I have a query around working offshore and if anyone has any experience doing so whilst contracting in a consultancy which is normally office / home based.

I am an IT consultant but am being asked to go to an oil rig in Europe for no additional recompense, I will only get my regular day rate. The work hours are abnormal. Normally go offshore from 6-18 but I know from past experience I often have to work later. I don't see anything in my contract in terms of the hours expected so I believe I don't have a leg to stand on in terms of being able to claim any additional recompense?

Yes you do, you don't accept the contract.

Don't you have to go through loads of training like the helicopter ditching and the like before working on the rigs?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Walk (or swim)

Comment

Why would you take a role for the same money as usual that's a total ballache? Don't do it.

Comment

Originally posted by mattfx View Post
          Why would you take a role for the same money as usual that's a total ballache? Don't do it.