• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Negotiating rates on contract renewal

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Negotiating rates on contract renewal

Hey,

I've read in a few places that contract renewal is a good time to negotiate a rate increase. I've heard mutterings about me getting a renewal next month so having a think.

I was great at negotiating in perm but I'm an inexperienced contractor, and would appreciate tips (this is my second contract but first renewal - last one was a very small project).

I'm not direct with the client, I go through some consultancy (not a recruiter) so I suspect his take is fixed. I imagine this means he'll be reluctant to up my rate? Is it worth even trying?

Handy links/threads/tips appreciated!

Been asked by nearly every first time contractor so plenty of advice already on the forums. Use the google search as linked below.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ra...hrome&ie=UTF-8
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

TL;DR for NLUK's post:
      If you've not been there a full year and cannot justify your rate increase without being prepared to risk everything, simply sign up and carry on.
      The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

Thanks northernladuk, I have already poked around online but haven't quite found what I'm looking for.

Specifically, I was hoping to get thoughts on the following: