• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Best approach to finding your next role?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best approach to finding your next role?

Hi All,

Long time lurker here... little bit of background about myself, I've been contracting for 20 years and pretty much gone from contract to contract without any issues, friends/colleagues have mostly paved the way from one to the other. I started off purely technical and eventually moved into project/programme management (technical/security in the main) and that's where I market myself.

However this year seems totally different to any other I've experienced in those 20 years, roles seem thin on the ground where I live/want to work (North West/Midlands) and the usual sites don't seem to be bearing any fruit as it were - Jobserve, CWJobs, CV-Library, TotalJobs etc.

I've built a small network of contacts at a number of agencies but non have managed to find me anything so far, and trying to get hold of an agent that has advertised a role seems impossible once applied.

So my question is what should I be doing? what works for you?

Thanks

Out of the job sites, I think Jobserve is still the go to site. That is where I have had most of my roles from. The others have been from agents that I have been previously placed through or registered at from applying to Jobserve roles. You could also try LinkedIn. Try and grow your network in your preferred areas. Any local tech groups you could sign up to on LinkedIn that recruiters might be a member of too?

Comment