• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Negotiate rate in the middle of the contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Negotiate rate in the middle of the contract

Hi all

I am new to contracting and I am in the process of an interview for a contract that is for 1 year.
    However the rate that the company is willing to pay is slightly lower than my rate. If the contract was for 6 months I wouldn't have any problem because I could negotiate an increase in the renewal (considering there was one). But now that it is for 1 year is it possible to negotiate a rate increase in the middle of the contract?

Thanks

Thomas

When you say the rate is slightly lower than my rate. You mean the rate that you would like? You said you are new to contracting so how do you know what rate you are worth? Rates can vary wildly from gig to gig depending where you are, who the client is. Sometimes you take a lower rate to keep the money coming in and look forward to better gigs in the future.

How low are we talking here?

I'd say there is slim to no chance of mid contract rate negotiation so certainly wouldn't be banking on that.

You could try neogtiating a 6 month gig but if they bin you you could have done yourself out of some good money.

Also a rate rise certainly isn't guaranteed after the 6 months either. Why would they pay you more for doing the same thing?
    Last edited by northernladuk; 2 August 2017, 22:07.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment