• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cloud AZURE and AWS contract roles

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm a certified AWS Solutions Architect and I speak a lot at AWS meetups and conferences. Daily rate offers are pretty good. It's a good investment - not cheap but worthwhile.

Comment

Originally posted by RasputinDude View Post
      I'm a certified AWS Solutions Architect and I speak a lot at AWS meetups and conferences. Daily rate offers are pretty good. It's a good investment - not cheap but worthwhile.
      Just out of interest, how long have you been a SA and what's your background? Is the SA the only AWS qualification that you hold?

Comment

Originally posted by spongeym View Post
        Just out of interest, how long have you been a SA and what's your background? Is the SA the only AWS qualification that you hold?
        Originally, I'm from machine control software engineering but got bored of that a few years ago and took an opportunity as a perm to re-skill on a decent salary. I didn't just go straight for the SA qualification but built up to it over time. The course material is here (https://aws.amazon.com/certification...-professional/). Meetup groups are also a good way to meet others and learn.

The big thing about AWS is that if you are going to use it, then USE it. All of it. If you stick to EC2 VMs running everything then it's going to be super expensive. Use the services - for example, SQS instead of running RabbitMQ on EC2 instances, RDS instead of MySql on EC2 etc).