• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What is the best way to find out my chargeable day rate?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is the best way to find out my chargeable day rate?

Hey

I have been freelancing via an agency for nearly five years (PAYE). I get short term bookings and most of the time they are not even involved in the process. I heard a comment from someone else that their commissions are very high to the client. I am curious to know how much exactly because if it is very high or extortionate I am going to feel aggrieved - I am constantly being asked to do more work and it is my good reputation that keeps all these requests coming. Five years is a long time...

My question is - how do I find out exactly what a typical day's invoice for my services is? If I ask my agent I am sure they will put two and two together and start kicking up - like they have in the past when I asked for an increase in my day rate.

Originally posted by mhuk2016 View Post
    My question is - how do I find out exactly what a typical day's invoice for my services is?
    This is usually confidential information. You don't find out, at least formally. You could try chatting up someone in accounts and getting them to leak you the info.
    If I ask my agent I am sure they will put two and two together and start kicking up - like they have in the past when I asked for an increase in my day rate.