• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 Working Practices Review and Software Code Reviews

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 Working Practices Review and Software Code Reviews

I've just been through an IR35 Working Practices Review with QDos but this has found the practices within IR35 due to supervision because I've answered Yes to:

Does anyone have the right to rigorously scrutinise the contractor's work?

I'm a software developer, working on a project with other developers. For each piece of functionality developed, a Pull Request is made on GitHub, and the code will be reviewed by other members of the project team before being merged.

A code review allows anyone in the project team the right to scrutinize the work, however this is more a collaborative process that the whole team gains from, rather than a supervisory role where one person will reject work until they think its good enough.

Code reviews on software development projects are extremely common, there must be some contractors on here working outside of IR35 that participate in code reviews?

Its all open to debate but I don't agree that is being supervised. Applying software development best practices isn't being supervised. Applying agile practices isn't being supervised. That is the view point I have been given by "professionals". Other opinions may differ.

Did you just answer yes or provide a full explanation.

Comment

Originally posted by dx4100 View Post