• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Have You Ever Taken A Contract Well Below Your Skillset/Level? Would You Do It Again?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Have You Ever Taken A Contract Well Below Your Skillset/Level? Would You Do It Again?

Been on the bench for 2 and a half months and after previously having a long stint off before my last contract due to a serious illness, I only have enough cash to keep me going for about 3 months max. As a PMO Analyst I have been approached by an agency for a 3 month contract paying a day rate of 10% less than usual. Not a problem but what is getting to me is that it sounds like the client is bundling 2 roles (one a more junior project admin role) into another one to save money.

So organising meetings/rooms and 'any other project admin' has been cited in the description, alongside the usual skillset. I have accepted an offer of an interview but I know deep down that I will hate/resent doing that part of the job, like going 6 steps back to fresh post uni days.

I need the money and if I don't take it I'm not sure how long it will be before I get another contract. At the same time I'm concerned I'll get pigeon holed into this type of work in the long term. The agent says it's a 'foot in the door to other contracts with this fantastic company' and to see it as a stop gap. Have any of you been so desperate for a gig that you have taken one far removed from your skillset or what you were comfortable with and how did it pan out?

Originally posted by Tractor Trace View Post