• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What to do when a client is dragging on a project (and you're losing other work!)?!?!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What to do when a client is dragging on a project (and you're losing other work!)?!?!

Hi

I work as a freelance designer, usually through recruitment agencies but lately have been doing work for a private client who hires me directly to do design for their projects (they do the UX).

A few weeks ago, they engaged me on a new project and asked me to quote for / provide both design + development (I'd hire a developer).

They got sign off on the job and I was told project "kick off" would be the following week. So I secured the (freelance) developer and asked him to be available for this.

Four weeks have now passed and there has been no "kick off" as yet, which means both myself and my developer have missed out on 4 weeks work of other freelance gigs.

I do trust the project is going ahead - I suspect they are still working through their part (wireframes) - but it's now getting to the point where I'm losing a lot of money while waiting.

Last week, I raised concern and asked specifically for a date when we will see wireframes but was told again: "kick off next week".

We have not signed a contract that has bound us to dates so we are free to disengage if we want but I have been working with this client for some time so I don't want to chase off future work, however I need to put some pressure on.

What would be the best approach with this?