• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How do you get the working conditions/practices you want?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you get the working conditions/practices you want?

Hi All,

I'm still fairly new to contracting and I've spent a lot of time reading old posts on CUK to try and get upto speed on how to be/act as a contractor, IR35, providing a service etc.

One thing I'm struggling to figure out is when you get a contract with a client, how on earth do you manage to get them to agree to the working practices you require (when you are a LTD and providing a service to the client).

A lot of clients think contractors are just additional staff and don't understand you are coming in to 'provide a service' and I get the impression a lot of clients don't want to give contractors the flexible working practices required (as part of being outside IR35) - their permys wouldn't be happy, and the client won't have enough control over you? Can't see them agreeing to substitutions either.

How do you deal with this? I know you can ask for various points to be added/removed from contracts but in terms of the real working practices - do you just tell them how you need to work even before you start (and walk if they don't agree) or try to adjust things once you have worked with them for a while?

If you negotiate hard on the key points, do you you this at job offer stage? How successful have you been?

Thanks

S

Originally posted by Sparky1 View Post
    Hi All,