• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Taxable profit and Corporation Tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Taxable profit and Corporation Tax

Hello,

I am an IT consultant. I am considering to invest surplus business cash on shares, property etc through my limited company. Question is whether I should pay corporation tax on the amount invested or the amount invested can be negated from profit for the year while calculating Corporation Tax.

Total Income :- 80000
    Expenses :- 10000
    Profit for the year :- 70000
    Amount to be invested : - 20000

Should I pay corporation tax on 70000 or 50000 this year? Or can I delay corporation tax on the amount 20000 till the Tax year when I receive the investment amount back with profit or loss and declare dividend.

Regards

Originally posted by itcontracter View Post
    Hello,

I am an IT consultant. I am considering to invest surplus business cash on shares, property etc through my limited company. Question is whether I should pay corporation tax on the amount invested or the amount invested can be negated from profit for the year while calculating Corporation Tax.

Total Income :- 80000
    Expenses :- 10000
    Profit for the year :- 70000
    Amount to be invested : - 20000

Should I pay corporation tax on 70000 or 50000 this year? Or can I delay corporation tax on the amount 20000 till the Tax year when I receive the investment amount back with profit or loss and declare dividend.

Regards