• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Do these expenses qualify for pre-tax deduction?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do these expenses qualify for pre-tax deduction?

Hi,

I am a UK permanent resident (ILR). I took up full-time employment with the US branch of my UK employer in last tax year. I was on the payroll of the US employer. My offer letter did not specify any fixed term like one year or two year. I resigned and came back to the UK after 3 months to pursue another employment. During this time, I was maintaining an accommodation in the UK as well where my spouse was living.

During the 3 months in the US, I paid US taxes and expenses from my own pocket for the following :-

1. Travel to the USA and back to the UK ( receipts available)
    2. Rented accommodation (receipts available)
    3. Household expenses ( no receipts but about GBP 10 per day)

Please can anyone advise if I can claim the above expenses as pre-tax deduction on my foreign employment income for the purpose of self-assessment tax return.

Thanks

Originally posted by engineer123 View Post
    Hi,

I am a UK permanent resident (ILR). I took up full-time employment with the US branch of my UK employer in last tax year. I was on the payroll of the US employer. My offer letter did not specify any fixed term like one year or two year. I resigned and came back to the UK after 3 months to pursue another employment. During this time, I was maintaining an accommodation in the UK as well where my spouse was living.