• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Buying an electric car

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buying an electric car

Hi all, I am a software consultant, I work full time on PAYE and do some consultancy through my limited company. I use all of the compmay income as employer pension contributions into my SIPP, which makes the accounts simple. I would like to buy an electric car (or van), and it looks like buying through my company would be a good idea. The company has enough cash right now to buy a second hand vehicle outright, and I believe this would be 100% tax deductable at the time of purchase. I would not use it for business, all the usage would be personal. I think I would have to pay BIK at 2%, which would only be a couple of hundred a year. This seems too good to be true, so I must be missing something! Anyone see any problems with my plan?

There's another thread about something similar been rumbling on for a while now. The quick summary is how do you justify YourCo buying something for your personal use when it is not ever used for YourCo's business?

You and YourCo are two entirely separate entities. You might as well ask Tesco to buy it for you.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment