• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

question on ltd/employment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

question on ltd/employment

Hi, I've been working as contractor since 2018 on outside ir35 contracts as director of my limited. I pay myself a salary monthly between 15-20k per year, getting P60 from my company only.

I am getting contracts around 8-9 months per year. Each time I get a new contract I am being asked by agencies to justify the 'gap in employment' as it is not covered by start/end of the assignments.

My view is that I am employed continously by my limited company whenever my company deliver services or not. I end up in unnecessary looping of what is called 'employment references' which I would like to avoid by simply provide a single continously employment by my ltd which is eventually my accountant.

If you're an employee of TCS or Capita and working on 4 different projects or none, the employer is the company itself and not each individual client. I feel the same about my assignments and not sure if it is a CV issue that I need to fix or legal one that will help me to avoid the hassle. thank you for any suggestions

The questions do not refer to your legal employment situation but to the fact that after a contract you seem to be struggling to get another one. The fact that it is a choice or not doesn't really matter.

Clients tend to be put off by gaps on the CVs they receive. If they have a choice they will always go for the ones that have solid back to back contacts rather than a 'part timer'.