• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is this tax right?!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this tax right?!

Hi all, any advice on the below appreciated.

I worked as a self employed contractor until March 2020. I then ceased trading and started full time employment. Its been that way since.

The LTD could not be closed down as I had outstanding corp tax to pay. Still paying that.

The final returns were due from 20-21 this past Jan.
    I pay monthly instalments on the final corporation tax (ongoing to March 23) and paid off the final personal tax return.

I've heard from my accountant. I need to file again for last year (21-22) as some dividend distribution fell into that period.

Also being asked to declare the income from my full time job on my personal return the last two years.

How have I found myself in a position whereby I pay tax thru my full time position while also having to declare that same salary as personal income under a self employed status?

It seem I am being taxed twice.... frustrating as I haven't worked as a self employed contractor in two years and am still paying tax as a self employed person.

Is there anything I can do here?

Many thanks!

You cannot be taxed twice on the same employment income. There's something not right if you think you are.

By the way, as a limited company officer, you are not self employed. You understand that, right?
    Public Service Posting by the BBC - Bloggs Bulls**t Corp.
    Officially CUK certified - Thick as f**k.

Comment