• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting company wind up questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting company wind up questions

So,I have a 1 man contracting company that I set up a couple of years ago, which I am still using on an outside ir35 basis for now. With changes coming in April I am looking at options now, as I work in the nuclear sector, if anything to go by last years ore ir35 changes which ultimately were delayed, all the sector were going to blanket ban psc’ s and force them either into paye/umbrella or leave. This was mainly being done by clients making determinations with the outcome they want not to take on the risk, and also clients not accepting outside 35 for any of their roles.

So here we are now 2 months to go till most likely the same situation. I have my accountant saying I should keep the company in case I get a outside 35 contract later, but not likely in the sector, of course they want paying monthly to keep things ticking over. So my question is say I go umbrella then there will be no income into the company, so things like account fees, insurances all still need to be paid, but will come from the tax money remaining so is not sustainable.