• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting for a UK company in Portugal

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting for a UK company in Portugal

Hello,

I am new to contracting and would like some advice.

My situation is:
    • I am a UK citizen and my home is in the UK.
    • I am working in London for a UK based company.
    • I currently work full time as a Software Developer.
    • With the same company, I am planning on moving from permanent to contracting as I hope to gradually cut my days shorter from 5 days, to 4 then to 3.
    • However, depending on what is more easier, I can decide to stay as a permanent employee with the same company but in Portugal.
    • They have no Portuguese branch. Their only branch is in London.
    • I will be working remotely in Portugal as my partner is there.
    • I hope to become a resident and make my home there.

Now my questions are:
    • What steps should I take to make this happen?
    • What things should I consider? What should I be aware of? Is this even possible to do? Is it hard to do? - I keep running into unknown things. I thought working remotely abroad would be simple but there's a lot of hurdles to get through. For example, I just found out I need to pay taxes in two countries and to see whether my employer will and can pay taxes to abroad. So this is what I'm asking if there is anything I should be aware of?
    • Taxes and tax returns, documentation where and how in portugal