• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Sub contracted for over 2 years to local authority.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sub contracted for over 2 years to local authority.

Hi all. I was a sub contractor to my local council for over 2 years full time. I never had to quote for jobs. They just gave me paperwork to do all there repairs to property's. Then after 3 months of a new manager coming in they took me into the office and told me they had no more work for me to do. And they gave me 2 weeks worth of work as notice. This seamed very strange to me as I had dedicated my last few years to them and they just dumped me for no reason at all. My work was well up to standards Infact it was quality for a council. Unfortunately I had no more customers to fall back on but they said that they didn't want to lose me as I was a very good worker so they said after the 2 weeks notice they would take me on through an agency that they used so be g single and no work and a family to fund . I accepted the job. This was very confusing the way had been done. It didn't feal right but had no idea what to do about it. ALso for the last 5 months I had one of the councils vans permantley to use for work as my vehicle had broken down so I reduced my rates to cover the fuel and van use to them. So I started on agency then after a year they took me on full time and then after 6 months they made us all redundant and had to apply for our new positions. This was a long slow process but I got the job and after a few months of stressfull work