• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First time renter in London

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello everyone, hope someone can clear things out..

I am moving to the UK, in London, to work as a contractor. I need a house to rent obviously for me and my family but since I’m new to the game I am not sure how to proceed.

I know rental agencies usually want references, but I don’t have any. Could it be possible to rent by forming an Ltd and paying myself a decent salary and then provide my contract to the rental agency? Would it be legal?

I did manage to find a house thanks to friends of friends who is willing to rent us a house, as a private, in Birmingham. But that’s quite distant from London and if I traveled from Mon-Fri, it would be 4 hours of train commute every day and around 800£-1000£ or so for train pass + London Underground.

Now, rent in London would be about 1500£ base, while in Birmingham it’s 650£. So even if I commute, the price difference would not be much higher. But I would still commute 4 hours a day.. which is a lot but could always use that time to work in my laptop.

So is there a way for me to rent in London or it’s better to go to Birmingham, at least for a few months?

£1500 will get u a dump outer London still a massive commute, maybe 90 mins on tube/bus. And a seat on the train? You having a laugh? Plus peak times i cant see a season ticket being so cheap.

Sounds hellish, the stress will kill you.

Comment

Rent in London. Unless you can do 2-3 days working from home per week.