• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting with UK LTD abroad: Agency or subcontracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting with UK LTD abroad: Agency or subcontracting

Hello,

I am a non UK resident / national etc (with no previous links to the UK). I have an LTD for consulting with other non UK companies (eg European). Currently a significant part of the work is carried in countries with no income tax.

To manage offshore expenses and pay employees abroad we are considering:

a) Setup an offshore IBC with an Agency contract with the LTD, the LTD keeps 10% of turnover and passes over 90%. From there the IBC can pay the employees. If employees on a taxable country IBC takes care of withholding taxes or hires through a local umbrella in destination country for the duration of engagement.

b) Setup the offshore IBC as a sub-contractor umbrella, invoicing the LTD on an hourly rate for the hours used on the projects. IBC then pays the employees. If employees on a taxable country IBC takes care of withholding taxes or hires through a local umbrella in destination country for the duration of engagement.

c) Pay directly the employees out of the UK payroll on gross basis either as employees or self-employeed. But there seem to be different views on this as seems HRMC is not definitive on process and lack of NIC etc and seems somehow of a fuzyy method (eg. payment to foreign directors)

In all cases the company will not be trading with UK entities nor will employ any UK resident/nationals.