• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ltd company buy to let

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ltd company buy to let

Hi, I’m a software consultant with ltd company. The company now has enough cash at the bank to buy a small house. I’m thinking that letting would be a better investment for the company, rather than leaving the cash at the bank with almost zero interest.

Is the company “allowed” to buy a residential property to let as an investment? If so, would it be liable for the new 3% tax on but to let property? What are other tax implications I should be aware of?

Many thanks,

Rob.

Please use the forum search facility. The same question has been popping up every couple of months since the contracting beginning of time.

HTH.
    ...my quagmire of greed....my cesspit of laziness and unfairness....all I am doing is sticking two fingers up at nurses, doctors and other hard working employed professionals...

Comment

The other advice would be to ask your accountant.
      …Maybe we ain’t that young anymore

Comment

The general consensus always seemed to be that you have to suck up the tax hit and go it alone rather than buy through your company, but that's never what people want to hear.
        The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world that he didn't exist

Comment

Originally posted by LondonManc View Post