• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Switching from Ltd to Umbrella

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Switching from Ltd to Umbrella

Hello

I am an IT contractor. Several years ago I used an umbrella company. That company was subject to the DOTAS scandal (whole other story), so I switched to Ltd company using Nixon Williams. There service has gone down the toilet lately. Also, I have never been very good at saving enough cash to pay the self assessment bill when it comes through.

I am thinking umbrella company may be better for me, but I obviously have concerns.

Assuming a day rate of £350, is there much difference in take home pay these days?

Finally, which umbrellas are the most respected at the moment?

Lucy at Contractor Umbrella. She posts on here regularly in the Umbrella section. She will probably pop on and say hello shortly as well.

The have a calculator on their site if you want to check the figures.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by EndoftheRoad View Post
      Hello

I am an IT contractor. Several years ago I used an umbrella company. That company was subject to the DOTAS scandal (whole other story), so I switched to Ltd company using Nixon Williams. There service has gone down the toilet lately. Also, I have never been very good at saving enough cash to pay the self assessment bill when it comes through.

I am thinking umbrella company may be better for me, but I obviously have concerns.