• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Limited company and divorce

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Limited company and divorce

Hi all,

Noob here in need of some advise.

Sequence of events:

1) Divorce proceeding started. At this point I'm a permanent employee.
    2) A few months later - I lost my job.
    3) Formed a limited company (as the sole director) and started contracting
    4) The limited company has been earning money, but I have not drawn a salary to date.

Divorce still not finalised.

My concern is, where do I stand in terms of:

a) Can the other half get claim share of the company's earnings?
    b) Yet to draw a salary, what do I declare as my income?
    c) How does the company's earnings reflect on my earning potential (for child maintenance or how the court will use this to split current assets)?
    d) Any related advise appreciated.

Cheers

First piece of advise
    https://www.google.co.uk/search?sour...38&safe=active

Most of the threads above talk about established situations. The fact you've started in middle of proceedings makes this very unique. The threads might give an idea how a company is viewed in a divorce but being after proceedings have been started it could be a completely different kettle of fish.

I think it's professional advise you need here.

Second piece of advise

Use advice instead
    Last edited by northernladuk; 3 November 2017, 16:28.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment