• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Pension contributions from employer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pension contributions from employer

I work as a contractor through a limited company. Myself and my wife are directors and each of us have 50% shareholding. Both of us are employees of the company as well. I'm planning to enrol for workplace pensions. We are planning to contribute about 1% of salary as employee contribution. As for employer contribution, is it mandatory that both of us should receive the same amount of pension contribution from the company? Can one person receive more employer contribution than the other? What are the rules governing this area?

Some of the rules

The total of employer and employee contributions can't exceed £40k per person in each year (although you can use any unused allowance from the previous three years, so you need to work out what you and your wife have previously used). There is also a £1m lifetime allowance.

If you make employers contributions into a SIPP then you need to be careful they don't automatically try to reclaim the tax from HMRC (since you won't have paid any). That's just something to watch out for if you use an online portal and bank card to pay it. My SIPP is in share.com and I found I had to phone them and give the payment details. All very easy but something to be aware of.