• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New IT Contractor - need advice regarding contract, insurance and IR35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New IT Contractor - need advice regarding contract, insurance and IR35

So I was contacted by an recruitment agency and offered a job.
    This is my first time working as a contractor, so naturally I have some questions:

After reading a lot about IR35 it seems that the agency is either ignorant about it or pretending to be. I was given the option to work through an umbrella or set up an LTD. I have chosen the LTD route, but haven't set it up yet.
    I am being asked to sign an Agreement for Work Finding Services which also seems to serve the purpose of Opting In/Out of the Conduct of Employment Agencies and Employment Businesses Regulations 2003.
    There is an additional page of information regarding the regulations which presents the Pros & Cons of Opting Out. Among other things it states that the Opt Out "will assist in demonstrating that you operate outside IR35" and "avoid any implication that you are under the client’s control (although you may agree to be)" yet one clause in the agreement states: "unless expressly agreed otherwise be subject to the direction, supervision and control of the Hirer or End User to the extent necessary for the proper provision of the Specified Services and comply with such rules and regulations of the Hirer or End User as are relevant to external contractors"