• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Full time contracting for US company - where do I stand?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Full time contracting for US company - where do I stand?

Hi,

This is my first time 'contracting' and my first time here....apologies if I'm posting in the wrong place.

I have just started what's essentially a full-time contract with a US software house - they have no presence in the UK / continental Europe, either physically or legally in terms of company structure or other staff

I'm not trying to do anything fancy, I just want to pay my taxes and take advantage of whatever I can reasonably claim as expenses in terms of running myself. Am I a complicated case in tax terms? It's unlikely that I will be taking on any other contracts so essentially I'm 'employed' full time by the single US firm as a full-time remote employee.

Any tips would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Stephen

Whether or not you're "employed" depends on the terms of your contract. If you're employed, you'll need to set-up a PAYE direct scheme with HMRC for PAYE and Employee's NI (DPNI) because your employer has no UK tax presence. No Employer's NI is due. Otherwise, you can choose to operate through a U.K. umbrella, assuming the contract is within U.K. jurisdiction and governing law (unlikely a large US company would agree to that) or you can form a Ltd.