• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ltd Company with 2 different activities

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ltd Company with 2 different activities

Hi,
    I am an IT contractor working through my own ltd company. I'm thinking to invest in property soon and I wanted to do that through a ltd company.

What I'm trying to figure out is if I can use my existing company for that or I need to set up a new one?

The main reasons that I want to use my existing company are firstly the fact that I would like to use part of the company's cash to fund the purchase which I assume will be considered as a purchase of assets so I will not pay corporation tax (I may be wrong on that).

The second reason is that setting up a second company means that I need to pay double the accounting fees for preparing and filing tax return so if I could avoid that it would be a big saving.

Any views from anyone with similar experience would be much appreciated.

Originally posted by fotistso View Post
    Hi,
    I am an IT contractor working through my own ltd company. I'm thinking to invest in property soon and I wanted to do that through a ltd company.

What I'm trying to figure out is if I can use my existing company for that or I need to set up a new one?

The main reasons that I want to use my existing company are firstly the fact that I would like to use part of the company's cash to fund the purchase which I assume will be considered as a purchase of assets so I will not pay corporation tax (I may be wrong on that).