• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Volunteering at end of contract.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Volunteering at end of contract.

Hi all,

I am an IT contractor with my own company and am contracting for a UK charity via a high street employment agency. Sadly my relationship with the agency has deteriorated to the point they will not extend my contract, despite the charity wishing to extend me.

I understand that part of the contract I have signed excludes me from working for the charity for a period of 12 months following the termination of my contract, as follows:

Can anyone advise me whether, legally, I would be able to work for the charity for free during the 12 month contract, or would this lead to a penalty from the agency. Thanks in advance.

I'd doubt they could stop you, supply of services suggests payment for said services. Interested to hear from an expert on this though.

Comment

Would the refusal to renew not make the handcuff unenforceable?*

* Not a lawyer

Comment

It all depends on whether the agency will be out of pocket or not really. Handcuffs arent generally applied unless someone is showing a demonstrable loss. Not letting you go back because they don't fancy it or you've fallen out with them will not wash.

If you going back there fills the spot up the agency would make money from then it's pretty solid, despite the 12 months being questionable.
        'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by VillageContractor View Post