• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Wife going contracting as well

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wife going contracting as well

Hi,

Im an IT contractor and my wife is now going contracting in Accountancy.

She's won a 4 month contract and we are going through process of getting the ltd company created et al.

She wants to do her own accounting and she is happy to learn as she goes by looking at how my accountant manages my business and replicating that.

Just a few questions

1) How do I deal with her start up expenses? I already have my own office in our attic room with PC, printer, monitor etc that I have already claimed as expense under my own ltd company. She will be making use of these for business administration as there is no point in buying extra kit, her main work will be done at client site. Is there any issue in her ltd company claiming these as an expense as well?

2) Should she get IR35 insurance at this stage or at all? I get impression IR35 is just an IT contracting issue, is it worthwhile for accounting contractors?

Originally posted by eldy View Post
    ...my wife is now going contracting in Accountancy....
    She wants to do her own accounting and she is happy to learn as she goes by looking at how my accountant manages my business and replicating that.
    So, she's going contract in accountancy, but doesn't know how to do accounts?