• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

"Contracted Regular Employee" status being pushed on me - IR35 implications?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"Contracted Regular Employee" status being pushed on me - IR35 implications?

I work in the engineering industry and the US have recently changed their ITAR rules (covers export of technology which could be used for military purposes) which impacts how information is allowed to be shared to sub-contractors. Because of this, the client I work for are in a bit of a bind - they cannot share (at least not easily) info with contractors and to get around this they want to move a large proportion of the contractors over to what they are calling "Contracted Regular Employees". This allows them to treat contractors are permanent staff under the ITAR rules and it's then easy to share info.

A slide I saw on the subject defined this as someone with a 12+ month contract under client supervision and tasked daily! This is clearly going to fall under the HMRC "disguised" employee category

So the question is, and it's not easy to answer I'm sure, is if the ACTUAL working practices don't change, my contract to the intermediate agency doesn't change and the end client contract is changing only to work around ITAR, would I then be liable to fall in to IR35?