• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Invoices in certain template

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Invoices in certain template

Good evening,

I know that this this site tends to mostly be IT contractors, but I am hoping you can help me. I work as a locum vet through my own limited company. I use InniAccounts for all my accounting and produce my invoices through their software.

I have just been informed by the support office of one of my major clients that from next month I will need to submit invoices using their template - which I've had a look at and it's awful and seems to be made to take the most time possible to fill out.

Where do I stand here - Can they decline to pay me unless I send them invoices using their template? Or given that I am already producing a legal invoice should I simply stick to my guns? Finally, if they can decline to pay me unless I use their template can I charge an admin fee for doing so?

Many thanks!

Originally posted by LocumVet View Post
    Where do I stand here - Can they decline to pay me unless I send them invoices using their template?
    Only if that's something you agreed to in the contract.

Or given that I am already producing a legal invoice should I simply stick to my guns?
    Well that's up to you really. FWIW, my attempt to avoid conflict would go so far as adding detail to my own invoice for the benefit of the client's admin and that's it.

Finally, if they can decline to pay me unless I use their template can I charge an admin fee for doing so?