• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Will LinkedIn recommendation affect my IR35 status?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Will LinkedIn recommendation affect my IR35 status?

I am an independent contractor working through a limited company and have recently completed a contract for a client.
    One of the client's employees has kindly written a recommendation for me on LinkedIn. The recommendation is very complimentary but it refers to me as a "respected colleague" which concerns me. Could this affect my status as an independent contractor working outside of IR35?

Originally posted by bob2 View Post
    I am an independent contractor working through a limited company and have recently completed a contract for a client.
    One of the client's employees has kindly written a recommendation for me on LinkedIn. The recommendation is very complimentary but it refers to me as a "respected colleague" which concerns me. Could this affect my status as an independent contractor working outside of IR35?
    Doubt it. "colleague" is not the same as "employee". If in doubt, and if and when Hector comes calling, just don't mention your LinkedIn profile. Simples.
    His heart is in the right place - shame we can't say the same about his brain...

Comment

While it's important that you pay attention to IR35 in working practices and contract terms, please try to avoid extreme paranoia on the subject.