• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Withdrawal of funds - this tax year or next?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Withdrawal of funds - this tax year or next?

Hello,

I have posed this question to my accountant; however, I've done some sums myself, and I'm getting different results - so I thought I'd put my question on here.

I'm a limited company contractor. This tax year, I've withdrawn the max I can to keep me under the higher rate threshold: £10,600 + £31,785 = £42,385. (as advised by my accountant). There's a balance in the business savings account, of which I'll be needing £20,000 in June this year.

My question is: should I withdraw the £20,000 this tax year or next?

Next tax year, I'm planning on only withdrawing £18,000 from the company (plus the £20,000 if its worthwhile). I will also have approx £15,000 in income from property. My 16/17 calculations:
    Non Dividend Income: £26,000.00
    Dividend Income: £7,000.00
    NDI less PA £15,000.00 (@ basic rate, £3,000.00 income tax)
    Dividend Income in BR: £7,000.00 (@ basic rate £150.00 dividend tax)

So, if my sums are correct, I can withdraw an additional £10,000 next year to take me to the higher rate threshold. Therefore, if I withdraw £10,000 this year, and £10,000 next year, i'd pay ((£10,000*7.5%)+(£10,000*25%)=£3,250). Am I right?

Thanks in advance for you help
    Last edited by JPL; 6 March 2016, 00:52.