• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Pension Setup Fee £500??

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pension Setup Fee £500??

I am a Contractor with a Limited Company, I feel that I am missing out on "no brainer" tax savings as I don't have a pension set up via my company. I have contacted my financial advisor department of my accounting company and they have explained the ins & outs of the Pension Plan they are providing but they charge a one-off £500 fee to setup in addition to an Annual Management Charge of 0.65%.

Is this normal?? Can anyone advise if this is competitive or even recommend a better provider??
    I have looked at NEST as an alternative (trust rather than shareholders), which do not charge a setup fee? Any experience/advice??

Many thanks in advance!!

That seems quite normal. I shopped around recently and ended up with someone charging the same as that. There were some that were charging 3% set up cost and 1% per annum. I guess it also depends how much you want to invest and some IFAs will negotiate.

Comment

I don't know what the management charges are off the top of my head, but my IFA didn't charge anything to set up my pension plan.
      Best Forum Advisor 2014
      Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
      Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

Originally posted by TheFaQQer View Post
        I don't know what the management charges are off the top of my head, but my IFA didn't charge anything to set up my pension plan.