• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Giant want me to personally indemnify them

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Giant want me to personally indemnify them

HI all,

I'm after a bit of advise, I've been contracting for 20 years now, and this is my first request for advise.

My client who has been using my co's service for the past 9 months has requested that I move my contract to a different intermediary, the new intermediary (giant precision services) is requesting that I personally (ie not my co) act as a guarantor for my co in respect of any losses that giant suffer. ie if giant suffers losses in line with the conditions in the contract and attempt to recover them from myco , and myco refuses or is unable to pay them, then I personally am liable for the losses.

Has anyone else seen this from Giant? and does anyone have any advice?

My feeling is to reject this ,but I suspect it will end up getting messy if I do (ie possible loss of contract).

See post below..
    Last edited by tractor; 29 November 2014, 08:27. Reason: Double posted for some reason, must be a 2 for 1 Black Friday offer......

Comment

It could get messy, and you could lose the contract over it, but I would still tell them to shove it.

It's a B2B arrangement, let them know who your PI insurers are and insist that that clause is removed

Comment

Originally posted by 20years View Post
        HI all,

I'm after a bit of advise, I've been contracting for 20 years now, and this is my first request for advise.