• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Landed a 3-month contract - IR35 problem. How much £££ would I lose?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Landed a 3-month contract - IR35 problem. How much £££ would I lose?

I've just switched to being a contractor and last week landed a 3 month contract with a central government agency. However, there is one problem. Upon getting the contract reviewed - I'm told that the contract is inside IR35.

It is paying 300/d for 3 months, but my accountant will have to make deemed payments. I'm new to this, but I'm wondering what the impact will be on me financially if I do this for 3 months only. Going for extensions is not a good idea I'm told.

What would my day rate be reduced to? How much extra tax would I pay? I don't want an exact figure now - just something indicative. If that's even possible!

(time to get back on the job boards just in case I think)

95% of the income from the contract would need to be paid as salary, and how much tax you pay depends on your other personal income in that tax year. It's no worse than if you were an employee, in fact slightly better.

You can reduce that 95% too, and pension contributions are a good way of doing that. If you can afford it, chuck a big lump of the income into your pension and that way it won't be taxed as salary.
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

Originally posted by ForBajor View Post
      Going for extensions is not a good idea I'm told.