• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

End new contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

End new contract

I am new to contracting. Last week I started a new contract role but I would like to resign /end the contract. Travelling to the workplace is too much for me, it takes too long and I cannot keep up with it. When I attended the interview the journey was shorter but travelling during rush hours takes too long.
    How do I go about resigning i.e. Do I go to work tomorrow and tell my manager or call the agency first or do I just not go to work and tell the agency,

I was reading the contract is for 3 months and under termination it has 4 weeks,

How long is the journey? Is there any chance you could stay overnight - maybe during the week, or perhaps 1 or 2 nights a week just to reduce the stress. Or would it cost too much? How flexible is your client? Can you work longer hours some days and shorter others, in order to avoid commuter chaos?

I had a 100 mile commute once - 1 hour 45 each way. I'd leave home early Monday morning, then stay over at the client location Tuesday and Wednesday night. I'd go home Thursday evening, and then Friday do the commute.

On another contract, it was a 3 hour journey. I did my contractual hours Mon-Thurs lunchtime and took Friday off.

On yet another, I flew out early Monday morning, stayed in an apartment during the week, and flew home late Friday evening.

Being away from home overnight and weekly commutes are part of the contractor experience.