• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie needs a little tax help!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie needs a little tax help!

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum, and to contracting.
    I am about to start working as an independent contractor for a charity which promotes sport in schools. I will be expected to teach for about an hour per day in various schools for about £50 per gig. I will have to sign a contract with the charity regarding rates of pay/hours of work/terms of employment/behaviour/dress code etc.
    As I am new to this I want to know what my best option would be regarding tax. So, my main questions are...

As an independent contractor would I have to fill out an IR35 form (or something else?).
    Or would I be considered a subcontractor?
    Would I need an accountant?
    How much would an accountant cost (roughly)?
    Do I need to pay tax monthly or annually?
    Can I claim for food/travel/office equipment expenses?
    If I only work for a few hours (say, 12) per week, can I get Universal Credit or some other benefit?
    Would working for other "employers/contractors" or private individuals affect my tax status? If so, how?
    Should I be a Limited Company/Umbrella or what?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Look over there ---> at CUK navigation and have a read.

Also go to ISPE website and read their guide to contracting. You may need to Google them.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Originally posted by SueEllen View Post