• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Start contracting on Tier 2

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Start contracting on Tier 2

Hi, I am an Engineering professional and been working (full-time staff) under Tier 2 General for the past 2 years. I am now planning to switch employer and the new prospective employer is offering a 2 year contracting position for which I need to set-up a ltd company. Can the prospective employer give me a Tier 2 sponsorship given that the contract/offer would be directly referring to me?

No. You must be employed by the sponsor. You would be employed by your LTD and subcontract to the client which would fail the sponsorship criteria and Umbrella's cannot sponsor you.

http://www.contractoruk.com/successf...er_2_visa.html
    Last edited by northernladuk; 8 March 2016, 17:11.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by sayed rizvi View Post
      Hi, I am an Engineering professional and been working (full-time staff) under Tier 2 General for the past 2 years. I am now planning to switch employer and the new prospective employer is offering a 2 year contracting position for which I need to set-up a ltd company. Can the prospective employer give me a Tier 2 sponsorship given that the contract/offer would be directly referring to me?
      Most definately not, contracting is expressly verboten on T2, it's not permitted to work via an intermediary, has to be directly for the end client.