• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Realistic take home income and IR35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Realistic take home income and IR35

Hey,

I'm a Software Developer and I plan to move to London (from Sunderland) at the end of this year and work on a £400-£500 / day rate as a contractor.

I read a lot about the IR35 and at some point I felt exactly like this title : IR35: the end of a dream - A contractor's view .Even if I read a lot, I find the IR35 rules very ambiguous.
    The description of all contract jobs seems exactly as a permie one : work on a client schedule (9-5:30 -- M-F), at the client Office, following their rules. So from my point of view all the contracts are inside IR35. Or it depends more of what is written in the contract than what will you do ?

Another thing is what % should I expect to take home from £500/day rate ?
    Using Umbrella Company inside IR35 - take home : ~55%
    Using Umbrella Company outside IR35 - take home : ~65%
    On other calculators, even on this site, outside of IR35, it says that you can take home 80% ++

A lot of the calculations were/are made on the premise that expenses can be used to reduce the tax liability and therefore "bump up" the take home pay percentage, as of April these will no longer be valid so take home pay will be lower
    Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy
    I can't see any way to do it can you please advise?

I want my account deleted and all of my information removed, I want to invoke my right to be forgotten.

Comment