• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Making the move

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Making the move

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to say hello. I am a permie wanting to go contracting and this site is a great place to have your questions answered ( and illusions evaporated). Have been working in IT for over 15 year, 10 of them in finances.
    I am a senior infrastructure engineer in an investment bank ( not a big one though), doing mostly Wintel vpshere, powershell. Have done many migration projects, and merges,did quite a lot of storage and Linux as well, so my experience is pretty varied, making me think that my strong point would be projects that involve a lot of technologies and platforms, like data migrations and merges.
    I am getting a bit tired of working in one place and getting stuck in office politics (it always bothered me ) , so my motives are change of lifestyle as well as (potentially) better financial prospects and independence. I like to challenge myself and now I am at the point in life when I want to make a move. I have been working alongside contractors and I like the idea of doing exactly what are you asked for , doing it well and thoroughly while getting valuable experience.