• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is this possible? Permanent Job Skill X -> Contract Job Skill Y

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this possible? Permanent Job Skill X -> Contract Job Skill Y

Hi all,

some people are taking the plunge into the world of contracting, I am taking the plunge into the contractor's forum. Anyway, I have a beginner's question that some of you might be able to answer. I have 15 years software development experience primarily in C# however I am lately more interested in Javascript and a lot of the technologies around it. There are good contracts in my area (Bristol) on Javascript and at home I always spend a lot of time learning new languages and frameworks so question is simple. Is it possible to get out of a permanent job doing C# for example and move into a contract doing Javascript if your only experience is through personal work and projects? I know that this wouldn't be the easiest thing in the world to do but is it feasible? Have you achieved that through your contracting career?

Originally posted by ninjamayo View Post
    Hi all,